If you’ve already hit the green button on your dashboard to accelerate the transfer to HubPages, you’re in good shape. If you’ve already deleted your Squidoo account, you’re also set (and remember, you’ll still get paid for all the time your account has been live). This is a note for those that are still trying to decide.
Just a reminder that tomorrow is the last day to opt out of the HubPages transfer. The deadline for this is 2pm EDT. (Here’s a handy timezone converter to help you find what time that is in your location). If you opt out, your pages won’t show up any longer and nothing of yours will be moved to HubPages when the transfer is complete.
In order to opt out, your account must be deleted by 2pm EDT tomorrow, August 29th. After that time, you will no longer be able to delete your account or any lenses attached to it, because we have to freeze everything to do the transfer. All lenses on Squidoo will automatically be deleted after the transfer is completed.
We want to make it clear that even after tomorrow’s deadline, you will have complete access to your Dashboard, stats and the Workshop (without Publishing), and you’ll be able to continue to backup your account.
If you miss the deadline and decide HubPages isn’t right for you, you can always delete your account on HubPages after the transfer is complete. Hit the green button, accelerate the transfer, check it out when it’s done, and if you don’t like it, by all means, hit delete…
Both teams at HubPages and Squidoo have been hard at work with the transition tools. Things are working well in our tests, spanning hundreds of accounts and thousands of lenses in a test environment. Everything is on track for the timeline to begin converting accounts on Tuesday, September 2nd.
If you do want your account transferred, we do encourage you to click the green button on your Dashboard to opt in. In doing so, you’ll be picking your username at HubPages, and be able to set up your account and create Hubs the way you’d like.
If we don’t hear from you… if you don’t opt in or out… and you have at least one featured lens – your account will be transferred instead of being automatically deleted. If your Squidoo username isn’t available on HubPages, they’ll assign you an alternative. Usernames on HubPages cannot be changed, so it is best to keep this in your control.
So, to summarize:
a. you’ll get paid for all the revenue your pages generate on Squidoo, by Squidoo.
b. if you hit the delete button, nothing will be moved.
c. if you hit the green button, you’ll get moved in the order of the people who have opted in.
d. if you do nothing, we’ll move your eligible pages to preserve them, but you can delete them at any time on HubPages.
If you experience any issues, please file a bug report so we can address it as quickly as possible. Thanks!